Board of Directors

The Tiburon Fire Protection District is governed by five elected Directors who are responsible for the prudent financial management of the department and for approving and evaluating District policy. The Board of Directors is committed to providing excellence in leadership that results in the delivery of the highest quality of services to its constituents and to the well-being of District employees and volunteers.

The Tiburon Fire Protection District Board of Directors are:

Steve Sears, President (Term: 2015-2020)

Director Steven Sears has served on the TFPD Board since 2010. Mr. Sears is a graduate of University of California, Santa Barbara, with a BA in Economics. He has been a resident of Tiburon since 1989. Steve is a newly retired restauranteur after being in the business for 38+ years. Having been a local business owner, Director Sears has felt a connection to the District through long-term communication and cooperation with the TFPD firefighters and, they not only saved his restaurant in 2007 from a kitchen fire, but also saved his life in 2008! 

Cheryl Woodford, Vice President (Term: 2018-2022)

Director Cheryl Woodford joined the Board in June 2017. She is a graduate of Drew University in Madison, New Jersey. Cheryl has lived in Tiburon since 2007. She spends much of her time volunteering for various organizations around the Bay area, including the Tiburon Green Team. Cheryl has worked in finance, most recently as a Client Relationship Officer at Barclays Global Investors in San Francisco and prior to that, in marketing and sales at Prudential Investments in New Jersey. Her interests include running, hiking and travel. 

David Kirchhoff, Secretary (Term: 2018-2022)

Director David Kirchhoff has served on the TFPD Board since 1999. David is a graduate of San Francisco State University and has obtained an MBA from Harvard Business School. He has been a resident of Tiburon since 1965. Director Kirchhoff is a Real Estate Broker and Consultant and his interests in serving on the TFPD Board include District fiscal responsibility, management, accountability and long-range planning for future needs. 

Tom O’Neill (Term: 2018-2022)

Director Tom O’Neill has served on the TFPD Board since 2009. He is a graduate of University of Minnesota and University of Denver. Tom has lived in Tiburon since 1968. He is currently the owner of a consulting business and his interests include sailing, hiking, photography and travel. Director O’Neill also holds a seat on the Southern Marin Emergency Medical Paramedic Systems Board, as well as a seat on the Tiburon Peninsula Foundation Board. He is the Founder and Director of the Tiburon Classic Car Show and Founder and Director of the O’Neill Irish Music Festival. 

Dr. Robert Miller (Term: 2015-2020)

Director Robert Miller has served on the TFPD Board since 2006. Dr. Miller is a graduate of the United States Naval Academy and graduated from Cornell Medical College with an MD degree. He has been a resident of Tiburon since 1986. Robert is a Physician in an active medical practice and brings 30 years of medical experience to the Board. He is also quite passionate about disaster preparedness and is certified in the Get Ready program. As well as being Red Cross certified for disaster triage, he also serves as a Block Captain to coordinate preparedness in neighborhoods. 

You may contact the Board of Directors:

1679 Tiburon Blvd.
Tiburon, CA 94920

Click here to email the Board.

2019 BOD Meetings Schedule:

The Board of Directors meet regularly on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm, in the conference room at Tiburon Fire Protection District Headquarters Station 11, 1679 Tiburon Blvd. Next regularly scheduled meeting is 11/13/19.


Agenda 10-9-19

Agenda 9-11-19

Agenda 8-14-19

Agenda 7-10-19

Agenda 6-12-19

Agenda 5-8-19

Agenda 4-10-19


Minutes 9-11-19

Minutes 8-14-19

Minutes 7-10-19

Minutes 6-12-19

Minutes 5-8-19

Minutes 4-10-19.


Special Districts:

Authorizing Statute/Enabling Act

Formation Documents (PDF)

Elections, Next Election, and Procedures:

Fire District Elections are managed by the Marin County Election’s office. Elections are held on even years. Terms of office are four-year staggered terms. The next Uniform District Election is scheduled for November 2020. The positions are for four (4) year terms.  Learn more about our election procedures here.

Additional information, including election procedures and deadlines, can be obtained by contacting the Marin County Elections office: Marin County Registrar of Voters.

Board Documents:

Tiburon Fire Protection District Board of Directors Manual (PDF)
 AB 1234 Ethics Training Certificates