COVID-19- Fire Inspections Suspended

COVID-19 FIRE INSPECTION SUSPENSION GUIDELINES

In an effort to protect the general public and the employees of all Marin County Fire Agencies, and reflective of the shelter in place order issued March 16, 2020 by the Health Officer of the County of Marin, effective immediately, requests for all non-essential fire inspections have been suspended.

The intent of this suspension is to respect the county order to shelter in place, limit personal contact and exposure, and to slow the spread of COVID-19 to the maximum extent possible.  

 

The following fire inspections have been determined to be non-essential and will be suspended:

·       All construction inspections including, but not limited to, verification of project scope (close-in), fire protection systems in new or remodel construction, vegetation management, photovoltaic, generator, ESS/battery systems, and final fire construction inspections are suspended.

The following fire inspections will be evaluated and scheduled as needed:

·       Essential fire inspections needed to approve maintenance and repair of existing fire protection systems.

 

·       Investigation and/or inspection of reported hazardous conditions that impact fire protection systems or that reflect a threat to life safety.

 

·       Persons reporting a hazardous condition shall be required to email the local fire agency (see reverse for contact information) with a request to investigate hazardous conditions. The request shall include the reporting party’s name, address and phone number, the name of the property owner where violation is occurring (if possible), address, a brief narrative of the issue and photos or videos.

 

For more information, please contact your local fire agency representative for more information (See reverse for contact information).

We appreciate your patience as we work through this global health issue.

For the most up to date information regarding COVID-19/Coronavirus, please see https://coronavirus.marinhhs.org/

 

Marin Fire Jurisdictions

 

Tiburon Fire Protection District

Michael Lantier, Deputy Fire Marshal

Mlantier@tiburonfire.org

 

Southern Marin Fire Protection District,

Mill Valley Fire Department

Fred Hilliard, Division Chief, Fire Marshal

fhilliard@smfd.org

 

Marin County Fire Department

Scott Alber, Battalion Chief, Fire Marshal

salber@marincounty.org

 

Marinwood Fire Department

Robert Sinnott, Acting Fire Chief

bsmith@marinwood.org

 

Novato Fire Protection District

Dmitri Menzel, Battalion Chief

dmenzel@novatofire.org

 

Ross Valley Fire Department

Robert Bastianon, Sr. Fire Inspector

rbastianon@rossvalleyfire.org

 

Kentfield Fire Protection District

Larry Pasero, Fire Inspector

lpasero@kentfieldfire.org

 

San Rafael Fire Department

Robert Sinnott, Acting Fire Chief

robert.sinnott@cityofsanrafael.org

 

Central Marin Fire (Corte Madera/Larkspur)

Ruben Martin, Fire Marshal

rmartin@centralmarinfire.org

 

Bolinas Fire Protection District,

Inverness Fire Department,

Stinson Beach Fire Protection District

Scott Alber, Battalion Chief, Fire Marshal

salber@marincounty.org